Technology’s Presence in My Very Basic Life

    Today’s world is so very dependent on technology, it’s kind of unbelievable. I on the other hand am someone who can live without it. But that doesn’t mean I don’t use it. When in curiosity of whether or not a tomato is a fruit, you can be assured that I would turn towards the good old internet. I guess I don’t have much of a choice. The internet is the only place where I can find such information easily, nowadays. And to be completely honest I understand how technology has many benefits and that having all information at everyone’s fingertips is a way of progression but for some weird reason, unlike others my age the negative side of technology is more significant to me.

Public Domain Image via Pixabay
Public Domain Image via Pixabay

    Don’t hate me, because I have nothing against technology, I admit I use it very frequently. The thing I fear is, how people choose to use it. Because let’s face it, there are many people out there who choose to use technology in a way to harm others and that’s why I have kind of distanced myself from it. Maybe I wouldn’t have, just maybe, if people knew how to use it safely. Now you might be thinking, why does she care so much about how others choose to use it? Doesn’t how she choose to use it matter? Well, you see, that’s it right there, how others use it somehow has its way of affecting me, and I’m just that kind of a person who prefers to be more protective over oneself, than to be sorry later.

    Now aside from all my concerns on technology, comes the fact of how I use it. I completely agree that technology has made the world a VERY advanced place. It’s a huge source of information and has answers to all questions that are accessible to all. And most importantly, it has opened doors to a place where people around the globe can connect and put their opinions out there. I mean, isn’t that what I’m doing right now? * By the way, being the critical thinker I am, I basically thought of arguments against every single sentence I stated in the paragraph above, just for your information.

    Now, since you’re probably wondering about whether or not I use technology at all. I’ll end your curiosity right here. Yes, I do have access to the internet, as well as my one personal laptop and iPod. I at times use social media, but recently prefer to spend more time in reality, rather than this other virtual world. And yeah, pretty much for homework and sometimes for entertainment purposes I indulge in the world of technology. But then again, just to let you know, I have some strong opinions towards technology as well. And I’ll bring this up, some other time.

Sincerely yours,

                Mantaqua

One Reply to “Technology’s Presence in My Very Basic Life”

Leave a Reply

